Pat Lamont Crowned 2017 Champion


The 30th Anniversary season came officially to a close celebrating Pat Lamont as the 2017 Champion. At the wheel of his new to him dragster, Pat earned the championship by going deep into the rounds all season long. Congrats Pat on a job well done!


Runner-up to Pat was none other than Chad Lamont. Chad kept the pressure up on his Dad until the last race, but Dad prevailed.


Jeff Torbeck took the number three spot with his hard charging Mopar powered dragster. The Lamonts had the field covered in 2017 but the points chase was as always close as can be; 3rd - 10th place was seperated by only five rounds after a whole season.


There were more awards presented after the Top Ten received theirs. Sponsor of the Year was presented to once again Autometer. To add to his Championship Awards, Pat Lamont was voted Sports Person of the Year. Sandi Mooney was voted Crew Person of the Year. Jesse and Kelli Smith's beautiful dragster received the Best Appearing Car Award. Thanks to Magic Photos, Mike & Lynn Garland, for all the wonderful photos of our cars. Thanks to Randy Etheridge, Tony Pontillo, Bill Fuesting, Herb, Ken Messenger, Warren Goetsch, Gary Jenkins, Anonymous Racer, Rich Kwas, Pat Lamont plus all of our other sponsors for their generous support.


As we update our machines for 2018 Please Support Our Sponsors. If you know anyone who would be interested in being a sponsor contact Rich Kwas at 708-743-6150.


We will once again have a couple of booths at the Performance and Race Expo on February 24th & 25th. If you are a MWSC Member, you can bring your parts to our booths in the Swap Meet Section. Contact Rich Kwas for details.